Skip Navigation
Ely Cathedral

CATHEDRAL CLOSURES

VERY OCCASIONALLY ELY CATHEDRAL MAY NEED TO CLOSE ITS DOORS TO VISITORS FOR A SERVICE, EVENT, FILMING OR MAINTENANCE OR RESTRICT VISITORS FROM CERTAIN PARTS OF THE CATHEDRAL

 

2017

Monday 7 August 2017 - Spring 2018

There is a major repair and conservation project taking place on the roof of the South Nave Aisle of the Cathedral. Some areas of the nave will need to be cordoned off at times to ensure visitor safety.

Saturday 12 August

Midday - 2.30pm: The Presbytery will be closed to visitors due to a wedding.

Monday 14 August - Wednesday 13 September

The Stained Glass Museum only will be closed to the public due to restoration work to the south nave aisle taking place.

Monday 21 August

Midday - 2.30pm: The Presbytery will be closed to visitors due to a wedding blessing.

Wednesday 30 August

10am - 4pm: There will be restricted visitor access to the Presbytery due to set up and rehearsals for an evening performance of 'A Midsummer Night's Dream'.

Thursday 31 August

9am - 4pm: Organ tuning. The Cathedral remains open to visitors and tours take place as usual.

Friday 1 September

9am - 4pm: Organ tuning. The Cathedral remains open to visitors and tours take place as usual.

Saturday 2 September

1pm - 3.30pm: The Presbytery will be closed to visitors due to a wedding.

Monday 4 September

9.30am - 11am: The Cathedral will be closed to visitors due the King's Ely beginning of term service. Tower tours will still be available.

Saturday 9 September

12.15pm - 1.30pm: The Lady Chapel will be closed to visitors due to the Walsingham Cell Mass. All are welcome to join the service.
12.30pm - 3pm: The Presbytery will be closed to visitors due to a wedding.

2018

Monday 29 January - Friday 23 February

The Stained Glass Museum only will be closed to the public due to restoration work to the south nave aisle taking place.

The Chapter apologise for any inconvenience

We know that people travel long distances to visit Ely Cathedral so we try to minimise periods of closure as much as possible. As soon as we know about a closure the information will be posted here. Please remember to check this page for any last minute changes prior to your visit as some events may have to be arranged at short notice. Contact Ely Cathedral West Door Desk +44 (0)1353 660344 (Mon-Sat 9.30am-4pm) or email visits@elycathedral.org