Skip to main content
West Tower clock

Opening Hours

Visitor Opening Hours

Monday - Saturday: 10:00am - 4:00pm

Sunday: 12:30pm - 3:30pm (last entry 3:00pm)

Changes to Visitor Opening Hours
Very occasionally we may need to close our doors to visitors for a service, event, filming or maintenance; or restrict visitors from certain parts of the Cathedral. We are aware that people travel long distances to visit Ely Cathedral so we try to minimise periods of closure as much as possible.

As soon as we know about a closure the information will be posted below. Please remember to check this page for any last minute changes prior to your visit as some events may have to be arranged at short notice.

Friday 12 August
11am - 12.15pm: The Presbytery will be closed to visitors for a choir rehearsal.
12.15pm - 3pm:
The East End and Presbytery will be closed to visitors for a wedding.

Saturday 13 August
11.15am - 1pm
: The East End and Presbytery will be closed to visitors for a memorial service.
12.30pm - 2.30pm
: The Lady Chapel will be closed to visitors for a memorial service lunch.

Monday 15 August
12 noon - 12.50pm:
The Lady Chapel will be closed to visitors for a service of Holy Communion. All are welcome to join the service.

Thursday 18 August
10.15am - 11am:
The Presbytery will be closed to visitors for a prayer group meeting.

Thursday 18th August
1.15pm – 3pm: The East End and Presbytery will be closed to visitors for a funeral.

Thursday 25 August
10am - noon:
The Lady Chapel will be busy with dance rehearsals, although it will remain open to visitors.
1pm - 2pm
: The Lady Chapel will be closed to visitors for a dance performance. All are welcome to attend the performance.

Friday 26 August
10am - 4pm:
The Nave will be busy with set up and rehearsals for a concert. The Cathedral remains fully open to visitors but please be aware some views may be obstructed.

Saturday 27 August
12.15pm - 3pm
: The East End and Presbytery will be closed to visitors for a wedding.

Saturday 3 September
9am - 5pm
: The Lady Chapel will be closed to visitors as it will be in use as a vaccination clinic.

Wednesday 7 September
10am - 4pm:
Organ tuning.
Please note that organ tuning involves loud and repetitive noise.

Saturday 10 September
2pm - 4pm:
The Lady Chapel will be in use for rehearsals. It remains fully open to visitors but please note some views may be obstructed.

Sunday 11 September
12 noon - 4pm
: The Lady Chapel will be in use for rehearsals. It remains fully open to visitors but please note some views may be obstructed.

Thursday 15 September
10.15am - 11am
: The Presbytery will be closed to visitors for a prayer group meeting.

Saturday 17 September
12 noon - 2pm
: The Lady Chapel will be closed to visitors for a lunch.
2pm - 3.30pm:
The South Transept will be in use for the Friends of Ely Cathedral AGM. The rest of the Cathedral remains fully accessible to visitors.

Thursday 22 September
1pm - 2pm
: The Presbytery will be closed to visitors for a lunchtime concert. All are welcome to join the concert.

Sunday 25 September
1.30pm - 3pm
: Visitors will only be able to visit the west end of the Nave as a service is taking place.

Thursday 29 September
1pm - 2pm
: The Presbytery will be closed to visitors for a lunchtime concert. All are welcome to join the concert.

Friday 30 September
11.45am - 2pm
: The East End and Presbytery will be closed to visitors for a wedding.