Skip Navigation
Canon Stephen Bourne - Administrator and Chapter Clerk, Canon Jessica Martin, Canon James Garrard, The Very Revd Mark Bonney - Dean, Canon Hugh Shilson-Thomas, Canon Victoria Johnson, Canon Tom Green, Canon Tim Bellis, Canon Victoria Avery


The Chapter

The Chapter is the executive governing body of the Cathedral, and  is responsible for the oversight of the day to day running of the Cathedral and its worship and each has particular responsibilities for the fabric, education, music and worship, marketing etc.

The Dean
The Very Revd Mark Bonney

Canon Residentiary
Canon James Garrard

Canon Residentiary
Canon Victoria Johnson

Canon Residentiary
Canon Jessica Martin

Non-residentiary Chapter

Canon Victoria Avery
Canon Hugh Shilson-Thomas
Canon Tim Bellis
Canon Tim Walters

Administrator and Chapter Clerk

Canon Stephen Bourne

Cathedral Council

The Council's role is to further and support the work of the cathedral, spiritual, pastoral, evangelistic, social and ecumenical, reviewing and advising upon the direction and oversight of that work by Chapter. It meets twice a year, receives the budget and annual report and audited accounts and discusses matters brought to it by Chapter and gives its opinion on such matters. Members include the Lord Lieutenant and representatives of Chapter, the Bishops Council, Diocesan Synod, College of Canons, Local government, education, and the cathedral congregation. It is chaired by Lord Wilson of Dinton.

College of Canons

Up to 35 clergy or lay persons who work in the Diocese of Ely (including The Chapter members) are Honorary or Lay Canons of the Cathedral and members of the College of Canons.

Honorary Canons

Canon Paul Andrews
Canon Brian Atling
Canon James Blandford-Baker
Canon Mike Booker
Canon Matthew Bradbury
Canon Fiona Brampton
Canon Malcolm Brown
Canon Linda Church
Canon Nigel Cooper
Canon Richard Darmody
Canon Maggie Guite
The Venerable Alex Hughes (Archdeacon of Cambridge)

Canon Huw Jones (Rural Dean of Cambridge South) Canon Philipa King
Canon Bruce Kinsey
Canon Nick Moir
Canon Anna Matthews
Canon David Male
The Venerable Hugh McCurdy (Archdeacon of Huntingdon and Wisbech)
Canon Annette Reed
Canon Wendy Thomson
Canon Shamus Williams
The Rt Revd Lord Williams of Oystermouth (Master of Magdalene College)
Canon Sue Wyatt


Etheldreda Ecumenical Canons

Canon Eamon Duffy
Canon Peter Wood
Canon Paul Whittle

Lay Canons

Canon Stephen Bourne
Canon Paul Evans
Canon Sue Freestone
Canon Simon Kershaw
Canon Peter Maxwell
Canon Jan Payne

The resident Chapter are assisted in liturgical and pastoral work by the Priest Vicars and Accredited Lay Ministers.

Priest Vicars

Canon Chris Barber
Canon Bruce Curry
The Revd Nick Denham
The Revd John Hall
The Revd Alan Jesson
Canon Michael Law
The Revd John Sansom
Canon Nicholas Thistlethwaite
The Revd Tim Thompson
Canon Colin Travers

Cathedral Licensed Lay Ministers/Readers

Mr John Marshall
Canon Jan Payne

Children's Licensed Minister

Mrs June Massey