Skip Navigation
Ely Cathedral

CATHEDRAL CLOSURES

We know that people travel long distances to visit Ely Cathedral so we try to minimise periods of closure as much as possible. Very occasionally Ely Cathedral may need to close its doors to visitors for a service, event, filming or maintenance or restrict visitors from certain parts of the cathedral. As soon as we know about a closure the information will be posted here.

Please remember to check this page for any last minute changes prior to your visit as some events may have to be arranged at short notice. Contact Ely Cathedral West Door Desk +44 (0)1353 660344 (Mon-Sat 9.30am-4pm) or email gro/lardehtacyle//stisiv

2019

Friday 23 August 1pm - 3pm | The Presbytery only will be closed to visitors for a wedding.

Saturday 24 August Midday - 2pm | The Presbytery only will be closed to visitors for a wedding.

Monday 2 September 9.30am - 11am | The Cathedral will be closed to visitors for King's Ely Beginning of Year service.

Friday 6 September 1pm - 3pm | The Presbytery only will be closed to visitors for a wedding.

Saturday 14 September 12.30pm - 1.30pm | The Lady Chapel only will be closed to visitors for a Walsingham Cell Mass. Everyone is very welcome to join the service.

Tuesday 17 September 2pm - 4.30pm | Visitor access to the Nave and Octagon will be restricted at times due to a school choral event taking place.

Wednesday 18 September | Organ tuning. The Cathedral remains fully open to visitors and all tours take place as usual.

Sunday 22 September 1.30pm - 3pm | The Cathedral will be closed to visitors for the annual Animal Service. Everyone is very welcome to join the service. The Stained Glass Museum remains open and Tower Tours will be available.

Wednesday 25 September | The Stained Glass Museum will be closed all day for staff training.

Thursday 26 September | There may be some restrictions on visitor access during the day due to set up for a Nave Dinner in the evening.

Saturday 28 September Midday - 2pm | The Lady Chapel will be closed to visitors for the Friends' Day lunch.

The Chapter apologise for any inconvenience