Skip Navigation

SAFEGUARDING

Latest News: For an update on IICSA Report please click Here

Ely Cathedral is committed to safeguarding all those who attend the worship and other activities that we offer.

Ely Cathedral accepts the prime duty of care for children and vulnerable adults.

Ely Cathedral follows recommended safeguarding practice in recruiting, training and supporting our ordained and lay ministers, our employees and our volunteers.

Ely Cathedral follows the advice, guidance, policy and practice of the Church of England in promoting a Safer Church. The Church of England Safeguarding Policy Statement for children, young people and adults is available here

Chapter have adopted the following Church of England Policy Documents which are all accessible on the Church of England Safeguarding Pages. www.churchofengland.org/more/safeguarding

The Gospel, Sexual Abuse and the Church: A theological resource for the local church can be found here

We are continuing to add information to the safeguarding page of the Church of England website in relation to COVID-19. This includes information regarding domestic abuse.

The 2020 IICSA report into the Anglican Church investigation is available to read here

Contacts for Key Cathedral Officers

The Dean
The Very Revd Mark Bonney (Clergy) | Tel: 01353 660316 | email: m.bonney@elycathedral.org

Chapter Safeguarding Lead
Canon James Reveley (Clergy) | Tel: 01353 660302 | email: j.reveley@elycathedral.org

Departmental Safeguarding Officer: Senior Management Team and Administration
Jonathan Bell (Non Clergy) | Tel: 01353 660308 | email: j.bell@elycathedral.org

Departmental Safeguarding Officer: Music and Worship
Canon James Garrard (Clergy) | Tel: 01353 660335 | email: j.garrard@elycathedral.org

Departmental Safeguarding Officer: Learning
Canon Jessica Martin (Clergy) | Tel: 01353 660304 | email: j.martin@elycathedral.org

Safeguarding Officer: Edward Bear/Junior Church
Canon James Reveley (Clergy) | Tel: 01353 660302 | email: j.reveley@elycathedral.org

Cathedral Safeguarding Administrators
Sarah Coakley (Non-Clergy) | email: s.coakley@elycathedral.org

Cathedral Safeguarding Adviser (independent of Cathedral)
Lisa Pearson | Tel 07990 581267 | email: lisa.pearson@elydiocese.org

Diocesan Safeguarding Adviser (independent of Cathedral)
Rebecca Boswell | Tel: 07904 487912 | email: rebecca.boswell@elydiocese.org

Diocesan Assistant Safeguarding Adviser (independent of Cathedral)
Sharon Gage | Tel: 07507 741295 | email: gro/esecoidyle//egag/norahS

Diocesan Safeguarding Officer (independent of Cathedral)
Sarah King | Tel: 07776 661798 | email: sarah.king@elydiocese.org

Ely Diocese Safeguarding information can be found here

If you need independent advice or support, or know of anyone who may benefit, the following links may be helpful:

Survivor Support Services
Childline
NSPCC
Women's Aid and Refuge National Helpline (24 hr)
Stop it now! Confidential advice
Police Child Abuse investigation Unit. Telephone 101

Safe Spaces is a new free and independent support service, providing a confidential, personal and safe space for anyone who has been abused through their relationship with either the Church of England, Church in Wales or the Catholic Church of England and Wales. It is being run by Victim Support, a national charity with a track record of providing survivor support.

Safe Spaces comprises a team of trained experts. This service is for those who may have experienced any form abuse, including sexual abuse, physical abuse, financial abuse, psychological abuse (including spiritual abuse), domestic abuse, coercive and controlling behaviour.