Skip Navigation
Ely Cathedral


25 September 2021 7:30pm

Weber: Invitation to the Dance
Colin Riley: Stream-Shine, a concerto for violin and orchestra (world première)
Brahms: Symphony No 4

with Philippa Mo, Violin
Ely Sinfonia
Steve Bingham, conductor

Prepare to be surprised and delighted as international violin sensation (The Weekender) Philippa Mo joins Ely Sinfonia to play the world première of Stream-Shine, a concerto for violin and orchestra by composer Colin Riley.

This new work, commissioned by Ely Sinfonia, embraces the acoustics of Ely Cathedral in a mesmerising evocation of fragile beauty, reflective and joyful in equal measure.

But first, luxuriate in Weber's Invitation to the Dance, the first ever waltz written for listening rather than dancing. It has been described as "the transition to modern dance music", "the most brilliant example of dance music yet written" (Music with Ease) and is certainly exquisitely poetic and utterly romantic!

Ending the concert, what greater contrast than Brahms' Symphony no 4, with its rich autumnal colours and glorious melodies? From the first sighs of the strings to the final deeply personal, uncompromising ending, this is one of the most captivating of all Brahms' compositions.

Tickets: £25 / £18 / £15 (reserved)
£8 (unreserved)
Concessions £15 in £18 seats
Under 18s (Child) go free in £15 & £18 seats