Skip Navigation


08 July 2017 7:30pm

Cambridge Philharmonic Orchestra and Chorus

PARRY (arr. Jacob): I Was Glad
ELGAR: The Spirit of England
STRAUSS: An Alpine Symphony
Conductor: Timothy Redmond
Soloist: Stephanie Corley (Soprano)

2017 marks the centenary of Elgar's The Spirit of England. Deeply affected by the suffering of the First World War, Elgar set verses from a collection by the war poet Laurence Binyon in a style far from the pomp and circumstance of his celebrated marches. At around the time Elgar was beginning work on what would be his final choral work, Strauss was putting the finishing touches to his last orchestral tone poem. The Alpine Symphony describes, from sunrise to sunset, the breath taking scenery in which Strauss and Mahler used to walk together. Scored for a vast orchestra - including 20 horns, 8 timpani and a set of cowbells - it is a work perfectly suited to the imposing grandeur of Ely Cathedral.

Tickets: reserved: £25, £20, £15, unreserved: £10 (students and under-18s £10 on the door) available ONLINE at or from ELY CATHEDRAL BOX OFFICE 01353 660349 (Mon-Sat 9.30am-4pm) or email: gro/lardehtacyle//eciffo/xob