Skip Navigation

EVENSONG BROADCAST LIVE ON BBC RADIO 3

09 November 2016 3:30pm

(worldwide broadcast times below).

LISTEN LIVE

The service will be broadcast live from Ely Cathedral. It will then be available on the BBC iPlayer.

Everyone is invited to attend the service in the Cathedral. You are asked to arrive early and be seated by 3.15pm at the very latest.

The service will also be recorded by the BBC for use at a later date and to allow this to take place, the Cathedral will unfortunately have to be closed to the general public from approx 3pm until approx 4.45pm to prevent noise intrusion.

Order of Service:

Introit: The Spiritual Railway Arthur Wills
Preces - Arthur Wills
Psalms 47, 48, 49 - Beckwith, Walmisley, Elvey
1st Lesson - Leviticus 26 vv.3-13
Office Hymn - Most holy Lord and God of heaven Plainsong
Magnificat - Verse service Arthur Wills
2nd Lesson - Philippians 4 vv.4-9
Nunc dimittis - Verse service Arthur Wills
Responses - Arthur Wills
Anthem - O pray for the peace of Jerusalem Herbert Howells
Hymn - What shall we pray for those who died? John Bell
Organ Voluntary - Elegy Arthur Wills

BBC Radio 3's Choral Evensong is a long-running weekly programme, which broadcasts from churches and Cathedrals across the UK.

Telll us where in the world you are listening from through Facebook and Twitter.

Live Worldwide Broadcast Times

GMT/UTC - 15:30
Central European Time - 16:30

USA / Canada
Eastern - 10:30
Central - 09:30
Mountain - 08:30
Pacific - 07:30

Australia
AEDT: 02:30
ACDT: 02:00
WST: 11:30